TRAVEL REVIEWS

NameCountryLocationCategoryRatingReviewStart DateEnd Date
Dana Tower HotelJordanDanaAccommodation5We arrived to a welcoming reception after making a reservation 30 minutes prior - the owners were extremely nice. We got the pick of the accommodation and were happy with the well decorated, large triple room. We chose to have the buffet dinner too and were not disappointed. The weather was a disaster so were stuck inside the entire time but due to the staff it didn't really matter. Would loved to have stayed longer to hike the area. Highly recommended.2016-02-212016-02-22
Homeros Pension & GuesthouseTurkeySelcukAccommodation4Top marks go to Saziye, the owners sister, as the food and service provided by her was second to none - she was extremely friendly and prepared tasty Turkish dinners each night of our stay. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the bus station and easy to find. We visited mid January and although the hallways were very cold the social/ dining area was warm, and as long as the aircon was continuously turned on then so was the bedroom. Our room was quaint with a small bathroom, more than adequate for our 3 night stay. On a side note the WiFi picked up in the room but never seemed to work for us. We would definitely recommend this reasonably priced hotel.2016-01-182016-01-21
Skopje WalksMacedoniaSkopjeWalking Tour5Miha and his attention to detail were second to none - he knows the city of Skopje extremely well. There were 4 people on the walking tour and due to its size and enthusiasm it lasted over 4 hours! The tour started at the Memorial House of Mother Teresa and ended at the Bazaar on the opposite side of the river - I think we must have covered every part of the central city, with Miha's love, and often frustration of his home shining through the entire time. An amazing city tour of the cities highlights.2015-10-302015-10-30
Chuchura restaurantBulgariaKoprivshtitsaRestaurant5My wife and I ate here on the only night we spent in town - we stopped by for just a drink and ended up ordering appetizers, closely followed by the main course. We should have know when the appetizers were fairly filling what was to come! Fortunately we only ordered a single portion of the chicken sach as it was plenty big enough for the both of us, and extremely tasty. The restaurant was very quiet, as was the entire town. We would definitely rate the excellent and very reasonably priced food here.2015-10-272015-10-27
Hotel ComfortBulgariaVeliko TarnovoAccommodation5We were the only people staying at this perfect, but basic hotel - the very friendly lady owner greeted us with a smile which instantly made us feel at home. The views across to the castle area were almost unobstructed, a great bonus when the light show comes on at 8pm. We had no breakfast but there are cute places to eat close by. Highly recommended.2015-10-262015-10-27
Pension am SchneiderturmRomaniaSighisoaraAccommodation5We were greeted by the friendly owner who instantly gave us a shot of locally produced peach licquor - nice gesture. Our room was built into the castle wall, had tiny windows, was pretty small, but perfect for the two of us. Breakfast was a full on spread with meats, cheeses, bread, eggs, fruit and many other local foods sourced from the areas farmers. Upon our departure the owner also gave us a couple of mugs with the hotel name on them - another nice gesture. Very nice stay with a great host.2015-10-212015-10-22
Old Town Loft with Amazing ViewsCzech RepublicOlomoucAccommodation5We didn't get to meet Daniel but his wife was extremely nice and helpful. Unfortunately we only had 1 night to spend in their very clean apartment - the upstairs attic room was ideal, and being travelers it was impressive to see their collection of articles from around the world. Having full access to the kitchen was very much appreciated. The apartment is literally steps away from the old towns main square on a cobbled road, and with a very nice restaurant (Vila Primavesi) minutes away we were set. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.2015-09-292015-09-30
Prague Royal Walk Free Tour-Discover Prague ToursCzech RepublicPragueWalking Tour5First off, my wife and I did both the morning city tour with Paul, originally from the US and now living in Prague, and the castle tour with Pistis in the afternoon, again living in Prague but from Israel. Both tours were extremely informative, the first one being free with Paul relying on tips, and the second a paid tour. Its great to have 2 guides with so much knowledge of a city full of history, and a great way of relaying that history to a group of foreigners. Both lasted around 3 hours, which was just enough time to cover the sights with a short break thrown in. Would very much recommend Paul and Pistis to others wanting to get on these great walking tours.2015-09-272015-09-27
Room Across from the SlopesUnited StatesAvon COAccommodation4Cory and his super friendly dog, Rambo, were great hosts. We were given access to the kitchen which is always good for us. His condo was small but adequate for my wife and I, the bed is comfy and we had our own bathroom - what more could we ask for. We were close to the center of Avon, with access to Vail and Edwards a short drive away. Parking was always available close to the condo, and being ground level it was easy to carry all our crap and bikes into his place. We would definitely stay again - thanks Cory.2015-05-042015-05-06
Artist HomeUnited StatesTaos NMAccommodation5Jennifer was a great host, always available and wanting to assist however possible. I felt crappy for almost the entire week and she gave me her humidifier to aid with sleeping. The accommodation is pretty much half of her cool adobe home, providing us with our own sleeping area, living room, bathroom and access to the shared kitchen. We used the kitchen on numerous occasions, outfitted with everything we needed to cook fancy dinners. We had our own fridge in the bedroom for storing food, with access to the larger fridge/ freezer if necessary. The property is a couple miles from the arty area of Taos, where there are plenty of places to shop, eat, and drink, with supermarkets and a couple of gyms on the main road. Taos Spa, just around the corner from Jennifer's was a great place to join for a few days. Our arrival in daylight made it easier to find the property as it is located down a narrow dirt road - there was plenty of parking and the views of the surrounding hillsides were amazing. Hiking and biking access is right from the door. We would definitely recommend staying at Jennifer's adobe home.2015-04-272015-05-04
Swallow B&BIrelendGalway CityAccommodation5Our first Irish B&B and we weren't disappointed - the hosts were very friendly, the location was a short 10 minutes walk to Quay Street and the ocean, and the breakfast set us up nicely for the day ahead.2015-03-192015-03-20
Provincia HostalColombiaValleduparAccommodation5Great place to stay prior to heading out to Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta - rooms were more than adequate, clean and spacious. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook in, and the staff were very helpful. They have a huge map on the wall of the places to visit in the area, including indigenous villages, monuments and swim places. They are located one block from the main plaza and very close to the shared taxis for Pueblo Bello and Nima. Great find.2014-12-242014-12-28
Tip Top IIIEcuadorGalapagos IslandsTravel5Selected this cruise due to recommendations, its first class status and westerly route, including Genovesa, Isabela and Fernandina. We were not disappointed! From start to finish my wife and I had the best time, both with the crew, the naturalist guide, the boat and especially the islands. We ended up paying $2500 each (inc flights) for a full price cruise of $4400 - neither of us had any complaints about the price or anything else. Rolf Wittmer and his Tip Top fleet of yachts certainly do an excellent job, and we would definitely use them in the future.2014-03-212014-03-28
Scuba IguanaEcuadorGalapagos IslandsAdventure5Dived with Scuba Iguana over 3 days and had the best time. Left the reservation until a few days out so paid $150 per 2 tank dive instead of pre-booking for $220. The guides/ instructors were extremely knowledgeable of all the dive sites and went through great briefings before and after the dives - we felt in very capable hands. The boats and crew were also top notch, providing adequate food and snacks. The diving was awesome, especially our final dive at Gordon Rocks - got to see sharks regularly, rays, dolphins, eels, sea lions and many fish. Overall a great experience with them and would definitely use them again.2014-03-192014-03-29
BoutiquitoEcuadorQuitoAccommodation5My wife and I spent one night here before moving in with family - they provided us with a personal dorm room for 6 and we couldn't have been happier. The decor was very well done and the breakfast was adequate. Slightly more than a regular backpacker budget but with its location close to Guapulo that is to be expected. We would go back for sure.2014-02-162014-02-17
Paramo TrekColombiaSalentoAdventure5My wife and I just returned from a 3 day hike to Paramillo del Quindio with Paramo Trek and had the best time. There were 3 of us and each paid 390.000 COP which we thought was good value for money - the price would have been better if a fourth person had signed up. Our guide, Manuel was probably the best guide we had on any of the treks we had been on over the past 15 months of travel through South America! He truly cared about the environment and providing us with the best experience possible, making sure our feet were blister free to carrying my wifes small backpack. The hike was rustic and that's what we expected so no surprises there. We had perfect weather with only small muddy sections but can imagine that with rain the trail would have been a mess, especially as a lot of it is used by horses and cattle. The scenery was amazing and nothing too demanding (if you're a seasoned hiker!) - the hike up to 4700m on the second day was a little steep in sections and the 6 hour hike out on the last day seemed to take forever but all in all a great way to spend 3 days around Salento. If you can get Manuel as a guide you wont regret it.2014-02-012014-02-03
Emerald GuesthouseColombiaTabioAccommodation5My wife and I stayed at the guesthouse for 3 nights after finding out about it from their Minca guesthouse. What a relaxing stay we had with Rocio, the owner. The food was fantastic and she took excellent care of us while we were there. The breakfast was always delicious and we're really going to miss the fabulous dinners she prepared for us! The guesthouse is on a big plot of land, surrounded by beautiful hillsides and lots of cows. I walked to Zipaquira, 15km, and into Tabio, 8km, whilst there, both very scenic walks (it's also very easy to catch the bus). It was great to be away from the hustle and bustle of Bogota, yet still only an hour by bus. We're also going to miss the pets!2014-01-212014-01-24
Colombian Bike JunkiesColombiaSan GilAdventure5A fun day from start to finish, including delicious food from Gringo Mikes, great guides and well maintained Kona full suspension bikes - this is a rarity in the 15 months my wife and I have been on the road! Its a long 11 hour day so the $85 is value for money. Thanks newcomer Emily for a job well done in guiding us throughout the day.2014-01-112014-01-11
Medellin Walking TourColombiaMedellinSightseeing5Our guide, Pablo, was so passionate about his City and provided us with an amazing tour of many of the central sights. The way he explained things and told stories kept the entire group entertained for the whole 4 1/2 hours. We could tell that he really enjoys his job and loves to express his passion for Medellin to his traveling guests. The tour is free, with Pablo working off of tips - he did explain that a private tour would normally cost 30,000 COP per person, which is exactly what we tipped him. It was worth every Peso! Looking forward to the real city tour of Bogota....2014-01-032014-01-03
Magic TourColombiaSierra Nevada de Santa MartaAdventure5We had read many reports about the Lost City (Ciudad Perdida) Tour being the number one thing to do in Colombia so signed up with the highly recommended Magic Tour in Santa Marta - we opted for the 4 day trip and were glad we did. The longer 5 day trip would have just given us a day with a very short hike and being lazy. Our guide, Marron, was extremely knowledgeable and gave us lots of information regarding the route, the people, and the Lost City. The slight downfall was that he only spoke to the group in Spanish but tried to make it as clear as possible for us to understand, even with limited Espanol. The food was excellent from start to finish and accommodation in hammocks, bunks and tents was adequate considering where we were. Overall very pleased with Magic Tour and if they could fix the mosquitoes and sandflies it would be perfect!2013-12-202013-12-23
Emerald Green Guest HouseColombiaMincaAccommodation5Niall has to be one of the best hosts around - we stayed for 3 nights and felt totally at home. Our room was spacious and he gave us the choice, both at the same rate (even though we picked the more expensive room). We ate all our meals at the guesthouse, personally cooked by him and enjoyed them all. He advised on where to hike in the surrounding Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta and showed us the best place to laze by the river running through Minca. He also made sure my wife could work by giving her his personal broadband card for Internet access. Ishka, his dog also made us very welcome! We loved our stay.2013-12-172013-12-20
Free Spirit InnPanamaIsla BastimentosAccommodation5As you walk up the cement path to Free Spirit Inn you wonder where in the world you are heading, then after 5 minutes you turn right into Calvin's slice of paradise. The view from the common eating area and the balcony is fantastic. I had to work while staying here and the wifi/internet was some of the best on our travels. I had multiple skype calls that were as clear as a land line, the internet never went down in 5 days, and no one ever had to reset the wifi - pretty amazing for being on a jungle island. Calvin said the breakfast was "basic", but it was perfect for us! The cereal was above average, his freshly made fruit juices are delicious, a hard-boiled egg and toast, we couldn't ask for anything more. The accommodation was also very nice. Our bed was comfortable, everything is clean, and there is plenty of seating to lounge around. Our only negative was going down the steep staircase in the middle of the night to use the toilet, but we also could have stayed in the other unit to avoid that. Really no big deal, you just had to be careful. Calvin is a great host who knows all the locals, who to use for various tours, and where to go and eat. We sat and chatted with him on many occasions during our stay with stories of his 45 years of travel and life in general. Old Bank is a fun, local town on Isla Bastimentos with many places to eat and drink, or a very short 7 minute $3 boat ride to Bocas town for more variety. The place and Calvin were great and we'd definitely stay there again. I hope you get a chance to experience this slice of paradise!2013-11-172013-11-22
Hotel Blue CongaCosta RicaPuerto ViejoAccommodation5First off a big thank you to the Blue Conga managers, Pierre and Marise for making our stay the best (and that was with Marise recovering from Dengue). We couldn't fault them and their hospitality. Pierre would take all the guests out on free tours of the local waterfalls, Cahuita, Punta Uva, and explain about the wildlife, the locals and share all his knowledge learned over his time on the Caribbean coast. The hotel is well located 5-10 minutes walk from the center and serves up a great breakfast, including bacon, sausage, crepes full of local chocolate and bananas, coffee, tea and juice. We had use of their bikes to discover the areas beaches and national parks, which for us was great with having no car. We opted for the deluxe rooms for the extra $10 so we could use the fridge and microwave, saving us on lunches and some dinners! The pool area was great to hangout at with a chilled beer taken from the fridge on an 'honor system'. Overall, an excellent time and I'm sure that when the managers open their own place it will be a big local hit.2013-11-092013-11-16
Cabinas la CatarataCosta RicaLa FortunaAccommodation5My wife and I loved this place, and even ended up staying for 11 nights. The owner, Felix, and his wife were great hosts, keeping the cabins clean and preparing a very good breakfast for us each morning. There was no time schedule and we ate the included breakfast as early as 5.45am a couple of days and as late as 9am. The cabins are very rustic and basic but have everything we needed including a small kitchenette that we managed to cook lunches and dinners without any problems. Felix would show us toucans and a multitude of other birds that came through the beautiful grounds each day, especially at banana feeding time. Jonathan and Sofia in the PACR travel office on the grounds of the cabins were very helpful with tours and local advice, and also assisted the cabin owners with guests due to the owners lack of English. Excellent value for money with probably the best hosts we've had on our 13 month trip through central and south America. They even did our laundry for free!2013-10-292013-11-09
Casa ColoresCosta RicaMontezumaAccommodation5We stayed in the larger 2 bedroom cabin for 2 weeks and loved it - just over a mile from the center of Montezuma with a nice hill on the way back! I was preparing for the La Ruta mountain bike race so was perfectly located to get some good muddy rides in. Having the bike was a blessing and made popping into town to get food, etc.. easy (town being Cobana and not Montezuma!). The owners were very helpful, ensuring our cabin was always clean, and cooking fresh fish for us one night. On the grounds of the cabins we had a troop of white faced capuchin monkeys come through one morning which was cool to see from our deck.2013-09-282013-10-12
Charming home rainforest backyard!Costa RicaGranadilla San JoseAccommodation5I stayed with Zaida for 10 nights and felt very welcome for my entire visit. Breakfast was great every day and I had full access to the kitchen so could prepare my own meals too. The house is a little out of San Jose but perfectly located for me to be able to mountain bike on the surrounding volcanoes. It was easy to get into SJ by public bus. Zaida also provided a mattress for my last night so my dad could stay after arriving in Costa Rica. Would definitely stay again, and may well be back sooner rather than later.2013-09-182013-09-28
Peru Treks & AdventurePeruCuscoAdventure5Not sure why we chose Peru Treks for the Inca Trail but very glad we did. We reserved months in advance as everyone does and once we arrived in Cusco we paid the balance in USD with no issues at all - we had a briefing from Saul who also was our guide for the 4 days, and he made everything clear telling us what to bring and what to expect each day. There were no surprises except the amazing views and ruins we got to experience. The cook prepared the best breakfasts, lunches and dinners we could have asked for and all the porters were very friendly and attentive. Many thanks to Saul and his assistant Darwin for their knowledge and the many laughs we had along the way. The only slight issue we had was why Peru Treks would not get Huayna Picchu tickets for us leading us to have to use another agent in town!2013-09-042013-09-07
Hotel Casona les PleiadesPeruCuscoAccommodation5We stayed here for 2 nights prior to the Inca trail and 5 nights after - we left a lot of luggage whilst trekking and it was placed in our room for when we arrived back. The hotel is very convenient in the San Blas area - a nice little walk up hill to get in practice for the areas hiking! The breakfast was pretty good and all the staff are very friendly. Free coffee, teas and coca were greatly appreciated too. Loved room 5 with its view of the city, and nice decor.2013-09-022013-09-13
Hostal Las OlasBoliviaCopacabanaAccommodation5It was a bit of a pain making the reservation, with having to deposit the first nights stay in the owners bank account due to our arrival being after 2pm, but that was the only negative. We got into suite 4, La Tortuga and loved it - with an enormous window overlooking Lake Titicaca, huge circular bed and nicely decorated it was heaven. We paid a minimal amount to use the hot tub one evening and found it very warm and relaxing. The suite came with a small kitchenette which was perfect to make breakfast and lunch. One of the best places we've stayed at in Bolivia!2013-08-282013-08-30
CountryhouseBoliviaChulumaniAccommodation5Try finding this place on Tripadvisor or anywhere else - we knew of it through friends and it didn't disappoint. Chulumani is definitely not on the tourist route and it was great to be the only gringos in town, especially over a weekend with a drunken fiesta in full swing! Javier and Betty were great hosts, full of advice and things to do - none that really mattered as we were there over a very wet weekend. They made us very welcome in their rustic and quaint house, with a hearty breakfast each morning. Would definitely go back if we're ever in Chulumani again.2013-08-232013-08-25
Altai Oasis Eco LodgeBoliviaSorataAccommodation3We chose Altai Oasis on the recommendation of friends - Sorata doesn't have the best accommodation anyway so this place was adequate. Quite a hike from town down a steep hill if you take the trail but still only 15 minutes or so. The grounds are nice enough, the pool not so much, and the staff are OK. We had dinner here and it was good with a nice balcony. The room was basic with a shared bathroom - there was no water coming from the shower or the toilet but the sink worked so we could at least clean our teeth! We only stayed a night so no big deal.2013-08-172013-08-18
Alberth Tours / Hiking BoliviaBoliviaLa PazAdventure5I decided to do the 2 day tour with Hiking Bolivia over the 3 day as I'd been in Bolivia at altitude for over a month. The price was competitive, their equipment was more than adequate, the guide was professional and the entire experience was very enjoyable. I had signed up expecting to be sharing the guide with a couple of Brazilians but found out they had bailed due to altitude issues leaving me with a personal guide for the price of a shared one! Would recommend Hiking Bolivia, especially if the guide is as good.2013-08-122013-08-13
Sol y Luna EcolodgeBoliviaCoroicoAccommodation5We only had one night in Coroico after doing the WMDR and are so glad we picked Sol y Luna for a place to stay. Its a 15 minute walk from town and is extremely peaceful, set high on a hillside overlooking the valley and views of snowcapped mountains. The Jatata cabin, as with all accommodation had a kitchen area and the upstairs bedroom was open to the outside world - pity it was so cloudy the afternoon we arrived as it was totally possible to lie in bed and see right across the valley. Food was not included but they had an extensive menu with great breakfast and dinner options. Top marks to the German owner!2013-08-102013-08-11
Gravity BoliviaBoliviaLa PazAdventure5Seems like the number one company for mountain biking the Worlds Most Dangerous Road, and for this reason we chose them. Crap bikes would have made for a disaster so we're glad we went with them. We had an American guide who knew his stuff and made for a fun and safe day - very punctual and made sure the day went without a hitch. The price tag is hefty for Bolivia but we didn't check out the competition so not sure how they compare. Great day, even in cloudy weather.2013-08-102013-08-10
Banjo ToursBoliviaLa PazExcursion5My wife and I met Sergio at Plaza San Francisco and had one other person on the tour with us - our guide new exactly where to take us and had some great information that we had no idea about. The tour lasted around 4 1/2 hours and took in San Pedro and other plazas, the witches market, Jaen Street, a mirador, and ended on El Alto where we decided to check out the Cholita wrestling after the tour. We would not have paid for the wrestling had we known how bad it was! Recommend the tour for anyone with a few hours to kill in the city and wants to get to know the main highlights.2013-08-042013-08-04
Condor TrekkersBoliviaSucreAdventure5We chose Condor Trekkers after reading the reports on Tripadvisor and after seeing their flyer. There were 5 of us from La Dolce Vita who could only make a 2 day tour but still wanted to see the dinosaur footprints so CT adapted the itinerary for us and made it happen. We had Henry and Hugo as our guides and thoroughly enjoyed our time with them - they ensured we were always doing well and prepared amazing food throughout the tour. We even got to see them dueling with pan pipes which was great to listen to. Maragua and the surrounding area is amazingly scenic. Highly recommended non-profit tour company.2013-07-272013-07-28
Koala Tours Cerro Rico mine tourBoliviaPotosiAdventure5Koala tours and Big Deal tours seem to be the main players within the mines - we ended up using Koala tours as we stayed at their Eucalyptus hostel and the staff seemed very friendly with plenty of experience. After chatting with one of the guides the previous day we paid the huge sum of 100 Bs for a 5 hour eye opening experience. There were approx 8 people with the main guide and his assistant which worked perfectly as a couple of people backed out at various stages within the mine and it meant the rest of us could continue on - the guides had a lot of knowledge and chatted to many of the miners which made our afternoon very enjoyable. Our tour went in the Candeleria mine and down to level 3 which was enough of an adventure, especially going up and down the super narrow tunnels between levels. Overall an amazing experience getting to see the conditions some people work in and what they will put themselves through. Thanks Koala Tours2013-07-262013-07-26
Hostal EucalyptusBoliviaPotosiAccommodation4We arrived in Potosi's flashy bus station which was impressive, then got in a new and clean taxi, finally arriving at this new hostel. Potosi really surprised us! We only stayed for 1 night and were very surprised with the quality of this hostel - part of Koala Den and Koala Tours. The English speaking reception staff were friendly and we were shown to the room which had a great hot-water shower AND a working heater, yes a heater in the room! The breakfast was better than a lot of Bolivian hostel breakfasts we've had, consisting of rolls and jam, coffee/tea and eggs. We paid just over $20USD for a matrimonial room which we thought was great value. Highly recommended!2013-07-252013-07-26
La Dolce VitaBoliviaSucreAccommodation5We stayed for 9 nights and loved this place We also payed an extra 10 Bs for the bigger matrimonial room that also had a table and chairs. The shower was piping hot which is great in Bolivia. The owners ensured the rooms are cleaned thoroughly and provided us with loads of advice regarding things to do / places to see in Sucre. The only slight downfall was the size of the shared kitchen but as long as you got in early to cook it was no problem.2013-07-212013-07-30
Madidi Jungle EcolodgeBoliviaRurrenabaqueAccommodation5We chose the 3 day / 2 night package, mainly due to other Tripadvisor reviews and were very impressed from start to finish. Our guide, Raul met us at our Rurre hotel and was helpful and knowledgeable throughout. The 2 1/2 hour boat trip on the Beni and Tuichi rivers to the lodge was like an activity in itself, and then the hikes, fishing and tubing excursions were loads of fun. The lodge was very rustic, exactly what we expected in the jungle. The food was simply awesome, with very filling breakfasts, lunches and dinners, and they even threw in the Piranhas we caught! They were working on the lodge and additional cabins when we were there but this didn't affect us in the least. Top marks to a great ecolodge owned and run by local indigenous people.2013-07-112013-07-13
Tupiza ToursBoliviaTupiza to UyuniExcursion5We used Tupiza tours after reading an online blog where they raved about the company. This was absolutely the right decision as the office staff at the Mitru Hotel, our driver / guide, Marco and our cook, Sylvia were very professional and made sure that we were completely satisfied. The terrain and landscape were out of this world and Marco made sure that we didn't miss out on anything, from seeing the geysers, hot springs, flamingoes, many lagunas, and finally the salt flats themselves. The cook, who we shared with another 4 guests with Tupiza tours was excellent and always provided great and substantial food, often in not so good conditions. We had a 4WD Toyota Landcruiser which Marco drove like he was in the Dakar rally but never dangerously. We shared the vehicle with a mum and daughter from Ireland who we had a great time with, and then in another Tupiza tours 4WD were another 4 people, who again were great fun to be around during the entire trip. Top marks to this company, especially Marco and Sylvia who made the trip outstanding for us.2013-07-052013-07-08
Sur BikeBoliviaTarijaAdventure4The owner of Sur Bike was very helpful when my wife and I rented mountain bikes to tour the Valle de la Concepcion wine region. The bikes were OK and we were provided with a map, tools, etc.. in case of problems. We had no issues during the 72km ride. I also went back and rented for a couple more days to tour other areas around Tarija, which again was trouble free.2013-06-292013-07-03
Hostal CarmenBoliviaTarijaAccomodation3We moved here after spending an overpriced night at Hostal Granny. We had a room with a very small kitchenette with no kitchenware - the hotel had no problems giving us minimum utensils which worked out OK. The rooms are dated but clean enough, although the mattress definitely needs renewing! Breakfast was very hit and miss, where maybe eggs and pancakes were available one day and not the next, yoghurt may be available, and papaya / bananas weren't always out either. Then it wasn't always on time! The view from the terrace was great and overall the staff were very friendly and helpful.2013-06-282013-07-03
Hostel JodangaBoliviaSanta CruzAccommodation4My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights after arriving very late from the Brazilian border. The only thing that sucked about it was the weather, but hey thats not their fault right! The Internet was some of the best we've had in S America, which was a blessing as my wife has to work during the day. The hostel is super clean, breakfast was great with fresh eggs, showers were always hot, and the kitchen has everything needed to cook great meals. Only slight downfall for us was that we had to take the rooms across the street and due to the crap weather we had they felt cold. The hostel may be slightly overpriced but when you've just arrived from Brazil it still felt cheap. We also didnt think the walk into town was too far, at around 20 minutes or a cheap cab ride.2013-06-222013-06-27
Pousada Santa ClaraBrazilSouthern PantanalAccommodation4My wife and I came across Santa Clara after deciding that Passo do Lontra was too expensive. Fortunately we had a car so it was easy for us to get to (not so easy to get out of after heavy rains!). The moment we arrived there was a family atmosphere and the staff were great - we didn't do any of their tours as we'd recently been to the northern Pantanal for a 4 day tour. The rooms were very basic but we did get to have a 6 bed dorm to ourselves for our entire stay. Spending 6 nights here was far better than the 6 nights we would have had to spend in Corumba prior to crossing into Boliva (we can only travel at weekends due to my wife working during the week). The caiparhinas are good, great food, the wildlife was all around us, free shuttle to/from the highway, fast internet, and they have a pool - what more could we ask for! Highly recommended and an easy to get to location.2013-06-152013-06-21
Pousada Ceu de EstrelasBrazilBonitoAccommodation5We ended up staying here for 8 nights after our initial weekend. We always looked forward to the breakfast, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. The common areas were very nice, and included a pool and games area. The only slight downfall for us was that the downstairs room we had was a bit dark. The Internet was for the most part good enough for my wife to work during the week. The pousada is very close to the bus station and supermarket and about a 15 minute walk to the center of town.2013-06-062013-06-14
Pantanal Nature ToursBrazilCuiabaAdventure5We were very impressed by Ailton, the owner and Edilson, our guide on our 4 day / 3 night trip into the northern Pantanal. All correspondence, airport transfers and departure down the Transpantaneira road to the Rio Claro lodge were very punctual. All the excursions from the lodge went well with Edilson always on time and very knowledgeable about the Pantanal and all its animals. All 4 days were packed with boat trips, canoeing, horse riding, walking, safari drives, and piranha fishing, and although we didn't get to see cats and a few other animals we still had an amazing experience. We would totally recommend Pantanal Nature!2013-05-312013-06-03
El Diablo TranquiloUruguayPunta del DiabloAccommodation4My wife and I checked in to this hostel for 2 nights and found the staff friendly and the private room more than adequate for a hostel. The breakfast was very basic but pretty typical for this part of the world! We were there earlier this month and it was definitely the happening place in this ghost town. Did get a little noisy until late one of the nights but hey its a hostel. Would recommend for the quiet season but have no idea what it would be like packed out in January.2013-05-182013-05-20
El Viajero B&B PosadaUruguayColonia del SecramentoAccommodation4This B&B, part of the El Viajero chain is perfectly located, a very short walk when you get off the ferry and an even shorter walk to the old town. The staff were great and prepared a great breakfast, at least compared to what we had been betting in a lot of Argentina! We're finding that Uruguay is not cheap but still found this B&B reasonable, especially for a double room with private bath. Recommended.2013-05-102013-05-12
AramburuArgentinaBuenos AiresDining Out5Tripadvisor reviews were spot on - excellent food, excellent service and not bad value for money (especially when you have blue dollars at 9+ pesos). I normally don't eat at places with super small servings but every course was mouthwatering and by the end of the 12 courses my wife and I were totally satisfied. They also have great wine and offer a 10% reduction if paying in cash. Absolutely recommended.2013-05-072013-05-07
Petit Hotel El VitrauxArgentinaBuenos AiresAccommodation5We loved the terry cloth robes and I miss them already! The b&b was fantastic and the owners went above and beyond to make sure our stay in BA was great. The bathrooms were very nice and VERY clean Even though they were not ensuite, I preferred them to a lot of other bathrooms in South America. The breakfast was also very good - there were cereals and breads, but they always mixed it up with other options including hard-boiled eggs and yogurts. We really enjoyed the breakfast conversations with the other guests and the owners! The b&b location was also perfect for us. We didn't have to walk too far for shopping, dining, theatre and much more.2013-05-032013-05-10
Bariloche CottageArgentinaBarilocheAccommodation5The cottage is located on kilometer 5.7 and right off the bus stop. It's very handy for getting in to town or walking to a few of the fabulous restaurants near the house. One of the best is just a block away! My husband was in Spanish school while we were there and it was also very close. The house has 2 bedrooms upstairs and 1 bathroom downstairs (with heated floors!) The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. We stayed for 3.5 weeks and were very happy with the house and the location and Bariloche. We were sad to leave!2013-04-022013-04-25
Greenhouse HostelArgentinaBarilocheAccommodation5If looking for a place to stay in Bariloche then this is the hostel. Brian, the owner and Santiago were always glad to help and offer advice. Everything was immaculately clean and the kitchen was a pleasure to cook in (rarely the case in hostels!). Everyone who stayed there during our week long stay were super friendly and noise was kept to a minimum. The location being at km 4.5 was no problem at all as buses to the center run every 20 minutes and the hostel provides a bus pass which you have to pay with (you do have to add money to it obviously). Very happy we chose this place and would definitely go back.2013-03-262013-04-02
Galeazzi - Basily B&BArgentinaUshuaiaAccommodation4We stayed at this B&B due to the positive Tripadvisor comments and we were not disappointed. Situated a short 10 minute walk from the main street in a quiet neighborhood the property was clean and tidy, but the bedroom was a little basic. The owners, Alejandro and Francis, were fantastic and very helpful, with 3 friendly dogs. The WiFi for my wife to work was excellent. Breakfasts could have been a bit better but tied us over almost to lunch, and we were given use of the kitchen to prepare lunches and cook dinners. We would recommend this accommodation to others visiting Ushuaia.2013-03-172013-03-26
Big IceArgentinaPerito Moreno Glacier El CalafateAdventure5Seeing this glacier for real instead of in pictures is amazing. Not so much in the area it covers but in the height of it. At around 60m high it dwarfs boats. Every few years it apparently does the most amazing calving and attracts many people from all over the world - we missed it by 7 weeks! Ice does fall off the face continuously though which is spectacular to see. We did the "Big Ice" tour with Helio & Aventura which gives around 3 1/2 hours trekking on the glacier, and although expensive at around $200 USD is a fun day out. Maybe not so much if the weather is crappy! Overall, not to be missed!2013-03-162013-03-16
"W" Circuit HikeChileTorres del PaineAdventure5My wife and I hiked the W circuit from east to west over 6 days in mid March and it was awesome! The scenery around every corner was amazing, and for the most part we had perfect weather to enhance the experience. We camped at the FantasticoSur and Vertice refugio locations but took the full board food options - the food was definitely better at the Vertice refugios but couldn't complain at either. We found that on some of the trails we would see quite a few people and on others we were alone - it was normally busier where access to the circuit was easier for the daytrippers. This multiday hike should be at the top of any Patagonia visitors list.2013-03-102013-03-15
Hostal Lili Patagonico'sChilePuerto NatalesAccommodation4We only stated here for a single night on the way to Torres del Paine. The private room was very small and clean but sufficient, and the breakfast was free, enough said! The communal areas were very nice. They did have a staff member who gave a pretty informative W Circuit talk also.2013-03-092013-03-10
Posada Karut JoshArgentinaEl CalafateAccommodation5My wife and I stayed for 6 nights, went off and hiked the W and then came back for another 2 nights - Frederico was a fantastic host, friendly, always available, an excellent cook and overall very helpful. We ate at the Posada a few nights and the food was better quality and value than some of the places in town. He packed us up with a couple of great packed lunches too. The bedrooms were totally adequate with very comfy beds. We would definitely stay again.2013-03-032013-03-17
Casa YaguareteArgentinaPuerto IguacuAccommodation5My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the Argentine side of the falls. Lorena was waiting for us at the gate and made us feel very welcome straight away. We had the newest room which was very spacious with a comfortable bed and AC. Breakfast set us up for the day and on one night we had the family style dinner with wine which was delicious. Lorena went out of her way to help us with everything we needed. Great host and accommodation.2013-03-012013-03-03
Hotel RouverBrazilFoz de IguacuAccommodation4My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights due to its price, location, complimentary breakfast and free airport transfer. The rooms were plain but adequate, the breakfast could easily be skipped, and the service is good. They have a pool with a loose liner but was still nice to relax on their loungers. For $50 a night its pretty good value for money in Foz. On a different note, don't let the website put you off!2013-02-272013-03-01
Pousada GuaranaBrazilParatyAccommodation5My wife and I with 2 friends stayed at Pousada Guarana for 5 nights in February and found it very relaxing with David, the owner going out of his way to make sure everything was perfect for us. The rooms were clean and very well kept, the breakfasts were the best, with various fresh fruit, cereals, egg, fresh bread and cake with juices and coffee. They rescue local dogs and cats so they are wandering about the Pousada but are very well taken care of and are no nuisance at all. They also have an on-site massage therapist who is probably the best in Brazil, and very reasonably priced. Great experience and wouldn't hesitate to go back if we're in the area again.2013-02-172013-02-22
Favela AdventuresBrazilRocinho favela Rio de JaneiroExcursion4The 4 of us met Zezinho, our guide and the company owner in Ipanema and headed to Rocinho on one the local shuttles - we were to do the 4 hour walking tour which was by far the best way to get the most out of the favela visit. We saw around half a dozen fully loaded jeeps go through with tourists gawking at the locals as though they were in a zoo, certainly not how favelas should be viewed! Zezinho was great from start to finish and provided us a lot of information on favela life and the history of Rocinho in particular. We had a great buffet lunch during our visit at a very reasonable price. The trip overall was great value for money and gave us a new view on the lifestyle of the people who live in the favelas.2013-02-162013-02-16
Ipanema airbnb.comBrazilIpanema Rio de JaneiroAccommodation5Fabulous apartment in the heart of Ipanema! Sandra, our host, was delightful and we had so much fun during our visit. Her house is immaculate, our room was spacious, the showers were hot, we had full use of the kitchen and there were delicious fruits on the counter for us to consume. She even had freshly baked Pão de Queijo for when we arrived! The penthouse is conveniently located and the upstairs terrace is a wonderful place for breakfast or taking in the views of Christ the Redeemer, the ocean, the Two Brothers hills and the beautiful nighttime sky. The apartment location is very safe and there is 24 hour security. Sandra was gracious enough to allow us to keep our excess baggage at her place while we made a side trip to Paraty. I had to work a few days during our visit and the wifi connection was excellent - I could even work from the terrace with the fantastic views! We are so happy with our decision to stay there and we would gladly choose it again!2013-02-092013-02-16
Belcove HotelBelizeBelize CityAccommodation4Belcove Hotel was one of the few budget hotels we could find with good reviews - fortunately we headed there for 1 night prior to taking the overnight bus to Cancun. The Belcove seems to be in a sketchy part of town, especially at night, although in the day we walked around comfortably. We took the budget room with private bath and it was totally fine for 2 persons and the contents of 2 backpacks - the shower was one of the best we've had in all of Central America! The staff are very polite and helpful. The Internet worked very well in the hotel, and also provided low connectivity on the deck of the Marlin restaurant next door. Bonus that it backs onto the canal and the old swing bridge.2013-01-292013-01-30
Actun Tunichil MuknalBelizeCayoAdventure5This was one of the best things we did in Belize, and thanks to Carlos Panti (the Caveman) for arranging it. We emailed him a month or so before and he replied punctually with all the tour details. We were picked up on time from Lower Dover and had only my wife and I and one other person which was perfect. Renan, the guy he provided as our guide was very experienced and had obviously been in the cave many times prior, and gave us a great, informative tour. Was a little annoyed knowing that cameras are not allowed anymore but to have flashes continually going off would have ruined the tour - we would still have liked to take one to the entry of the cave as would make great pictures when entering and leaving the cave. A great day out!2013-01-272013-01-27
Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle LodgeBelizeUnitedville (San Ignacio)Accommodation5Stayed in the "Red" room for 3 nights and totally enjoyed it - located very close to ATM caves and only 20 minutes by bus from San Ignacio. The owners are very helpful with things to do in the area, taking guests on a guided tour of the Mayan ruins on their land, and local animal life. Breakfasts and dinners were very tasty, cooked by the owner, Madeleine. They have 5 very friendly dogs that will accompany guests for walks along the river.2013-01-262013-01-29
Hotel Tikal InnGuatemalaTikalAccommodation4My wife and I actually enjoyed Tikal Inn - we were definitely expecting worse from the previous reviews. Certainly not cheap but included breakfast, dinner and a good guide for the sunrise tour. Can't comment on anything other than the bungalow we stayed in which overlooked the lawn area, but it was clean, had warm water and plenty of space. We got online with our laptop from the restaurant / reception area without any problems. And it's a few minutes walk from the Inn to the ruins entry. Room Tip: We had bungalow 9B (definitely 9 but not sure about the B)2013-01-252013-01-26
Hotel La Casa De Don DavidGuatemalaEl RemateAccommodation5I found this place when I went out for the day to El Remate, leaving my wife working in the hotel in Flores. I went in for lunch and after admiring the view of the lake and seeing so many birds I wanted to come back so the next day my wife and I left Flores on a collectivo at 6am and checked in here. The hosts, David and Rosita were great, the food was great and we had the long term rental room which sleeps 5 to ourselves which was great! Everything was very clean and all the staff were extremely helpful. If you're heading to Tikal or you just want a quieter place than Flores then this is ideal. Make sure they send bananas out on the pulley for the birds and also send drinks out on the zipline to the lookout near the lake. Thanks David and Rosita.2013-01-242013-01-25
Hotel Casa AmeliaGuatemalaFloresAccommodation4We checked in here after a crap experience at Casa del Lacandon - definitely more expensive but a far better hotel. We had one of the rooftop rooms which was very clean and the view from the roof was awesome. The free breakfast served from 3-6am (maybe 7am, can't remember) could have been better. Other than that we would definitely stop here again.2013-01-212013-01-24
Hotel Casa del LacandonGuatemalaFloresAccommodation2We moved out after 1 night due to the cleanliness of the room and the shower - we paid just under $20 but doesn't mean we can live in a very basic and dirty looking room. The location is ideal but most accommodation in Flores is!2013-01-202013-01-21
Utopia Eco HotelGuatemalaLanquinAccommodation5My wife and I took one of the Coffe Cabanas for 2 nights, and although very small found it adequate. Would have been nice if the front of the cabana which was the open side wasn't facing the other cabana! Utopia is located, I think around 10km down a very bumpy dirt road from Lanquin, and also within walking distance from Semuc Champey - perfect location. The food we shared both nights was great, and we give compliments to John's mum, the chef. The owner, John and the rest of the staff were great.2013-01-182013-01-20
Old Town OutfittersGuatemalaAntiguaAdventure5The owner, Matt and the staff at Old Town Outfitters were very professional and helpful during both the 1/2 day mountain bike rides I did with them. The bikes were in great shape along with the rest of the gear they provided. They even lent me a pair of clip-in shoes with pedals for easier riding. The guides were great on both days - the owner on the Volcano ride and Oseas on the Cielo Grande ride. It seemed like they were very busy with volcano hikes, especially Acatenango. Would use them for the hikes and biking for sure next time.2013-01-152013-01-17
Holistico HostalGuatemalaAntiguaAccommodation4Holistico was value for money, convenient location, free breakfast and a travel office on the premises. The only gripe my wife had was having no towels but we had our own so wasn't a big deal. She also had to be on the Internet all day working so spent more time on the premises which she probably got bored with. Overall, great hostel.2013-01-132013-01-18
Casa San BartolomeGuatemalaQuetzaltenangoAccommodation5We stayed for a week in this great accommodation, where the owner upgraded us to the suite with a self contained kitchen which we always like to have. Getting in the shower was like a sauna which was great at the end of a day sightseeing. We had dinner on 2 occasions cooked by the very happy, and always smiling staff. The owner, I think her name was Annabella was very helpful in arranging transport for us to explore a couple of local churches and offering us advice on how to get to various places. Overall, we would stay here again.2013-01-062013-01-13
Inuit KayakNicaraguaGranadaExcursion5We found Inuit Kayaks whilst cycling along the lake front, after being harassed by the boat owners wanting to take us to Las Isletas by boat. Kayaks were the far better option, especially when the guides are 12 and 15 years old! We got to take in the beauty of the Isletas at a slow pace, whilst still seeing many birds, bats, multimillion Dollar homes and an old fortress. It was a great way to spend 3 hours and $50 for the 2 of us.2012-12-142012-12-14
Ometepe ExpeditionsNicaraguaIsla de OmetepeExcursion5We found Javier through Hospedaje Soma in Moyogalpa and were very happy that we did. He was extremely punctual, polite, knowledgeable and attentive on both the Volcan Maderas and Concepcion hikes that we did and hanging out with him at Soma. The weather wasn't very accommodating on either hike but he made our time a lot of fun and interesting, especially when we found a beautiful, but deadly coral snake on the ascent of Concepcion! His English is excellent but still he loves to be corrected - thanks for a great few days Javier.2012-12-022012-12-01
Euro CafeNicaraguaGranadaRestaurant4We loved hanging out at the Cafe as it was nice and peaceful with good coffee and great muffins. The WiFi was good so we were always catching up and planning the next adventure. Seemed to be a great place to meet other travelers as it was always busy with people from different countries. They also have a small book store.2012-12-022012-12-21
La Perla del NorteNicaraguaGranadaAccommodation5This was the second rental property in Central America we found on VRBO and what a good find it was. Although totally over the top for the 2 of us due to the 3 bedrooms and 2.5 bathrooms it was laid out perfect, set around a courtyard with a pool and hammocks. La Perla is only 3 blocks from the central square and Cathedral, and even closer to the San Francisco convent. Plenty of nightlife was available a block away with great bars and restaurants to suit all tastes.2012-12-022012-12-21
Hospedaje SomaNicaraguaMoyogalpa Isla de OmetepeAccommodation5Everything about Zkini's place is great, from the very, very clean and well decorated rooms to the home cooked food he prepares most, if not every night. We chose this due to the previous reviews and they did not let us down! The location is quiet and still only 10 mins walk to the center of town, the wireless Internet was smoking which was great as my wife had to work a couple of days, and Javier the recommended guide was the icing on the cake for us. Thanks Zkini, and we hope to see you in Granada in the next couple weeks...2012-11-282012-12-02
Surcos ToursCosta RicaCorcovado Puerto JimenezExcursion5This was our 5th week in Costa Rica and by far the best. We found Nito from an online trip report and he certainly didn't let us down - he was by far the best guide, and there were many that seemed really good. From him putting mattress covers and mosquito nets on our bunks at Sirena to his unique knowledge and understanding of animal behavior he made our 3 day hike an exceptional experience.2012-11-222012-11-24
Cabinas JimenezCosta RicaPuerto JimenezAccommodation4My wife and I stayed here for 4-5 nights recently as the jumping off point to Corcovado - we loved the location of the cabins, right on the edge of the water. We did not stay in one of the fancy bungalows but the rooms in reception and by the pool are sufficient with fridge, TV, coffee maker and A/C. The owner and staff are all friendly and we met lots of other travelers whilst hanging out by the pool. It was great to be able to have free use of their kayaks and bikes too.2012-11-182012-11-22
Casa EscondidaCosta RicaPlaya Hermosa PuntarenasAccommodation4A beautiful 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom single story home just over a mile down Calle Hermosa, a dirt track with many pot holes leading to the Pacific ocean. The property has no AC but plenty of fans and huge windows allowing the breeze to blow throughout the house. The kitchen had a few issues with the fridge freezing everything and the prehistoric oven/stovetop with no heat regulation, although we always managed to.cook great meals. Richard, the caretaker, was extremely helpful and was always available whenever we needed him, from unblocking the toilet to taking us to the market to buy local produce. A huge waterfall is within walking distance from the back of the house and some of the best surfing in Central America is only a mile away, alongside the bars and restaurants of Playa Hermosa. The Backyard bar hosts a weekly surf competition at 4pm every Saturday. Jaco is only a short 7km drive away, and is full of shops, surf schools and bars.2012-10-182012-11-18

Subscribe To Our Blog

 

So you want to know what we’re getting up to whilst traveling around the world right? Yeah, thought you did. So come on, sign up here right now and we’ll be sending you a new blog whenever we get around to writing one.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest